### NORTH WEST LEICESTERSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

### **ANNUAL COUNCIL - 13 MAY 2014**

Title of report	APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES AND GROUPS, ELECTION OF CHAIRMEN AND DEPUTY CHAIRMEN
Contact	Councillor Nick Rushton 01530 412059 nicholas.rushton@nwleicestershire.gov.uk  Head of Legal and Support Services 01530 454762 elizabeth.warhurst@nwleicestershire.gov.uk
Purpose of report	To appoint the Committees and Groups of the Council and members to serve thereon and also to elect the chairmen and deputy chairmen.
Council's Priorities	Value for Money.
Implications:	
Financial/staff	None.
Link to relevant Corporate Action Team	None.
Risk management	None.
Equalities Impact Assessment	Not applicable.
Human rights	None.
Transformational Government	None.
Comments of the Head of Paid Service	The report is satisfactory.
Comments of the Section 151 Officer	The report is satisfactory.
Comments of the Monitoring Officer	The report is satisfactory.
Consultees	Leaders of Political Groups.
Background papers	The Council's Constitution
Recommendations	(A) TO MAKE THE APPOINTMENTS TO THE COMMITTEES AND GROUPS LISTED IN PARAGRAPH 1.2 OF THE REPORT.

(B) THAT CHAIRMEN AND DEPUTY CHAIRMEN BE APPOINTED FOR THE COMMITTEES AND GROUPS LISTED IN PARAGRAPH 2.1 OF THE REPORT.

#### 1.0 APPOINTMENT TO COMMITTEES AND GROUPS

- 1.1 In accordance with the Constitution Members must, at the Council's Annual Meeting, receive nominations of Councillors to serve on each board or committee and appoint to those boards or committees.
- 1.2 The Committees and Groups include:
  - Appointments Committee (4 Members plus appropriate Portfolio Holder)
  - Audit and Governance Committee (10 Members)
  - Electoral Review Working Party (5 Members)
  - Employee Joint Consultative Committee (6 Members)
  - Investigatory Committee (3 Members)
  - Licensing Committee (17 Members)
  - Local Plan Advisory Committee (7 Members)
  - Planning Committee (17 Members)
  - Policy Development Group (10 Members)

#### 2.0 APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMEN AND DEPUTY CHAIRMEN

- 2.1 Members are asked to appoint the Chairmen and Deputy Chairman to the following:
  - Audit and Governance Committee
  - Licensing Committee
  - Planning Committee
  - Policy Development Group

#### 3.0 NOMINATIONS

3.1 Nominations for the seats on the above committees and groups will be circulated at the meeting.

#### **APPENDIX 1 - NOMINATIONS FOR COMMITTEES AND GROUPS**

## **APPOINTMENTS COMMITTEE (5 members)**

Appointments for 2013/14	Nominees for 2014/15
Councillor R Blunt Councillor J Legrys Councillor A V Smith Councillor R Woodward Appropriate Portfolio Holder	

#### **AUDIT AND GOVERNANCE COMMITTEE (10 members)**

Appointments for 2013/14	Nominees for 2014/15
Chairman: Councillor T Neilson Deputy Chairman: Councillor J Cotterill	
Councillor A Bridges Councillor D De Lacy Councillor D Everitt Councillor G Jones Councillor C Large Councillor A C Saffell Councillor N Smith Councillor R Woodward	

#### **COALVILLE SPECIAL EXPENSES WORKING PARTY**

Appointments for 2013/14	Nominees for 2014/15
Ward members for Bardon, Coalville, Greenhill, Snibston and Thringstone:	Ward members for Bardon, Coalville, Greenhill, Snibston and Thringstone:
Councillor R Adams	Councillor R Adams
Councillor N Clarke	Councillor N Clarke
Councillor P Clayfield	Councillor P Clayfield
Councillor D Everitt	Councillor D Everitt
Councillor J Geary	Councillor J Geary
Councillor R Johnson	Councillor R Johnson
Councillor J Legrys	Councillor J Legrys
Councillor M Specht	Councillor M Specht
Councillor L Spence	Councillor L Spence
Councillor M B Wyatt	Councillor M B Wyatt

## **ELECTORAL REVIEW WORKING PARTY (5 members)**

Appointments for 2013/14	Nominees for 2014/15
Councillor R Blunt Councillor J Legrys Councillor N J Rushton Councillor A V Smith Councillor L Spence	

## **EMPLOYEE JOINT CONSULTATIVE COMMITTEE (6 members)**

Appointments for 2013/14	Nominees for 2014/15
Councillor R Adams Councillor A Bridges Councillor J Cotterill Councillor D De Lacy Councillor D Howe Councillor C Large	
Substitutes: Councillors J Bridges, N Clarke, T Gillard & R Johnson	

### **INVESTIGATORY COMMITTEE (3 members)**

Appointments for 2013/14	Nominees for 2014/15
Councillor R Blunt Councillor A V Smith Councillor L Spence	
Substitutes: Councillors R D Bayliss, J Legrys & T J Pendleton	

## **LICENSING COMMITTEE (17 members)**

Appointments for 2013/14	Nominees for 2014/15
Chairman: Councillor N Smith Deputy Chairman: Councillor J Coxon	
Councillor R Adams Councillor G A Allman Councillor A Bridges Councillor J Cotterill Councillor D Everitt Councillor J Geary Councillor P Hyde Councillor G Jones Councillor C Large Councillor L Massey Councillor T Neilson Councillor J Ruff Councillor J Ruff Councillor M Specht Councillor M B Wyatt	
Substitutes: Councillors J Bridges, D De Lacy, R Holland, J Hoult, D Howe & L Spence	

## LOCAL PLAN ADVISORY COMMITTEE (7 members)

Appointments for 2013/14	Nominees for 2014/15
Councillor R D Bayliss Councillor J Bridges Councillor D De Lacy Councillor C Large Councillor J Legrys Councillor V Richichi Councillor S Sheahan	
Substitutes: Councillors R Adams, A Bridges, A V Smith & R Woodward	

## PLANNING COMMITTEE (17 members)

Appointments for 2013/14	Nominees for 2014/15
Chairman: Councillor D J Stevenson Deputy Chairman: Councillor J Bridges	
Councillor R Adams Councillor G A Allman Councillor J Coxon Councillor D Everitt Councillor T Gillard Councillor J Hoult Councillor D Howe Councillor R Johnson Councillor G Jones Councillor J Legrys Councillor T Neilson Councillor N Smith Councillor M Specht Councillor R Woodward	
Councillor M B Wyatt  Substitutes: Councillors A Bridges, N Clarke, J Cotterill, J Geary, P Hyde & V Richichi	

# POLICY DEVELOPMENT GROUP (10 members)

Appointments for 2013/14	Nominees for 2014/15
Chairman: Councillor J Coxon Deputy Chairman: Councillor M Specht	
Councillor N Clarke Councillor J Cotterill Councillor D Everitt Councillor J Geary Councillor V Richichi Councillor A C Saffell Councillor S Sheahan Councillor N Smith	
Substitutes: Councillors R Adams, G A Allman, D Howe & C Large	